9 Largest Islands in the World

There are many large islands in the world, but some are definitely more well-known than others. This list includes the 9 largest islands, according to their size. 1. Greenland: 2,166,086 square kilometers 2. New Guinea: 785,753 square kilometers 3. Borneo: 748,168 square kilometers 4. Madagascar: 587,713 square kilometers 5. Baffin Island: 507,451 square kilometers 6. Sumatra: 443,066 square kilometers 7. Honshu: 227, 898 square kilometers 8. Great Britain: 209,331 square kilometers 9. Ellesmere Island: 196,236 square kilometers


As the largest island in the United States, Hawaii is unsurprisingly a popular tourist destination. The island is home to many different resorts, beaches, and other attractions.

Some of the most popular tourist destinations on the island include Waikiki Beach, Pearl Harbor, and the volcanoes National Park. There are also numerous hiking trails and other outdoor activities to enjoy.

Whether you're looking for a relaxing beach vacation or an adventure-filled trip, Hawaii has something for everyone.


Madagascar is the world's fourth largest island, with an area of 587,040 square kilometers. The island is located in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Africa, and is home to a diverse array of plant and animal species. More than 90% of the island's flora and fauna are found nowhere else on Earth.

The island's ecology has been threatened by human activity, and as a result, many of its unique species are now endangered. Deforestation, slash-and-burn agriculture, and hunting have all contributed to the decline of Madagascar's biodiveristy. Conservation efforts are underway to protect the island's remaining natural habitats and species.


Borneo is the third-largest island in the world and is located in the Malay Archipelago. The island is divided between three countries: Brunei, Indonesia, and Malaysia. Borneo is home to many unique animals, including orangutans, pygmy elephants, and rhinoceros hornbills. The island also has some of the oldest rainforests in the world.


1. Sumatra

With a surface area of 470,000 square kilometers, Indonesia's Sumatra is the world's sixth largest island. This equatorial island is home to some of the most biodiverse rainforests on the planet as well as many active volcanoes.Notable animals found on Sumatra include tigers, elephants, rhinoceros, and orangutans.

New Guinea

New Guinea is an island in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, northeast of Australia. It is the world's second-largest island, after Greenland, covering a land area of 785,753 square kilometers (303,381 square miles). The island is divided between two countries: Papua New Guinea to the east, and Indonesia to the west. The latter also includes the nearby islands of New Britain and Timor.

The island has been home to humans for at least 60,000 years. The first Europeans to visit New Guinea were Spanish explorers in the 16th century. The Dutch established colonies in the 17th century, and Germany annexed a portion of the north in 1884. After World War I, control of the island passed to Australia. Following World War II, it was divided between Australia and Indonesia.

Papua New Guinea is one of the most culturally diverse countries in the world, with over 850 indigenous languages spoken by its people. It is also one of the richest sources of biodiversity on Earth. Indonesia shares this distinction, as both countries are part of what is known as the Wallacea biogeographical region. This region has a high rate of endemic species, meaning that they are found nowhere else on Earth.


Located in the western Pacific Ocean, Celebes is the world's eleventh largest island. The island is approximately 700 miles long and 400 miles wide, with a total area of about 68,000 square miles. Celebes is home to a diverse range of cultures and languages, as well as a variety of natural attractions. Mount Kinabalu, the highest mountain in Malaysia, is located on Celebes. The island also contains several national parks, including Taman Negara National Park and Gunung Leuser National Park.


Taiwan is an island located in East Asia. It is the largest island of the Republic of China and makes up over 99% of its territory. The island is home to over 23 million people and is one of the most populous islands in the world. Taiwan is known for its beautiful scenery, friendly people, and delicious food. The capital city of Taipei is a major tourist destination, with plenty of shopping, dining, and nightlife options to keep visitors entertained. Outside of the city, visitors can enjoy hiking, hot springs, and other outdoor activities.

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico is an island located in the northeastern Caribbean Sea. It is the easternmost island of the Greater Antilles and the smallest by land area in the archipelago. Puerto Rico is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the north and by the Caribbean Sea to the south. It measures about 100 miles (160 km) long from east to west and 35 miles (56 km) across at its widest point, with a total land area of 3,515 square miles (9,104 km2).

The island's name derives from that of its former owner, Spanish explorer Christopher Columbus. During his second voyage to America in 1493, Columbus named it San Juan Bautista in honor of John the Baptist. The port city of San Juan serves as the capital of Puerto Rico and is also by far the largest city on the island, with a population of nearly 400,000 people. Other major cities include Ponce, Mayagüez, Arecibo, and Aguadilla.

Puerto Rico is mostly composed of uplifted fault blocks of limestone and metamorphic rocks that form rugged mountains crisscrossed by rivers that flow down to wide coastal plains. The highest point on Puerto Rico is Cerro de Punta (4,390 feet; 1,338 m), located in the Cordillera Central range near Jayuya. The coastal plain consists largely of alluvial deposits from these rivers as well as some coral reefs.


Cuba is the largest island in the Caribbean, and the second-largest after Hispaniola in the Greater Antilles. At over 11 million people, it is also the most populous island in the Caribbean. Cuba is located west of Haiti and north of Jamaica, and lies just south of Florida in the United States. Havana is the capital of Cuba and its largest city.

The island of Cuba was first inhabited by aboriginal peoples who arrived from South America around 2,500 BC. The Taíno culture flourished on Cuba before Spanish colonization began in 1492. Christopher Columbus landed on Cuba during his first voyage to the Americas and claimed it for Spain. The Spanish brought African slaves to work on plantations and in mines on the island, which became an important part of the Cuban economy during colonial times.

After decades of fighting, Cuban independence was finally achieved in 1902 under José Martí. However, US intervention led to a Cuban-American occupation from 1906-1909, followed by a period of US economic domination known as the Platt Amendment era until 1934. In 1959 Fidel Castro overthrew Cuban dictator Fulgencio Batista and established a communist state; relations between Cuba and the US deteriorated rapidly thereafter. Since then, Cuba has been subject to an American embargo (trade blockade), which has hampered its development; despite this, however, it remains one of the most developed nations in Latin America.